top of page

Kimchi Jeon (김치 전)


Cooking class is back in session with @Sailynn! :D

Joesonghabnida~ I had to transition back into college but now that I'm closer to an Hmart, you can expect all kinds of different meals from me!

For example~

Do you have kimchi in your fridge right now and are tried of eating it just as a side dish? Do you wish to make something fast and ready to go? Especially if you're on.... the GO! :D

Well ladies and gents, today I bring you Kimchi Jeon! Which is basically a yummy, ready to go, kimchi pancake!

(Disclaimer~ I can't promise it'll look as delicious as that photo...... but it will taste delicious! :D)

Let's set the pan on fiiiyaaa!

Ingredients~

(Serves about 5, depending on how big you want the pancake.)

13oz of Kimchi~

2 cups of all-purpose flour~

1 1/2 cups of water~

1 egg

Oil as needed to fry!

Chef Sailynn Tips~ To make kimchi less spicy, rinse it in water before mixing it into the batter. to make it spicier, add more kimchi juice!
 

Preparation~

Prep 1~ In a large bowl, combine the flour, water, an egg and whisk away until the lumps are gone! If the lumps are giving you trouble, that's okay, add a little bit more of water!

Prep 2~ Chop the up the kimchi into bite size pieces! Don't want you choking or anything! I love my students! D:

(Yes, that's what it actually looked like on my end...... it's not oatmeal e.e)

Directions~

Step 1~ Add chopped kimchi into the flour batter and mix well! Trust me, it'll start smelling yummy at this point! :3

Step 2~ In a large nonstick sillet, heat 2 or 3 tablespoons of oil over medium-high heat. Add a scoop of the mixed batter into the skillet and shape them into thin little pancakes or large ones, as you wish!

Please cook until the pancake is golden brown on both sides!

 

This one is mine

I followed the recipe so everything was made exactly how I wrote it, and trust me, it tastes boommbbb!

Eat it by itself or add some ham or dip it in soy sauce! My manager told me that she dipped Kimchi-jeon in syrup! :O *tempted*

So hopefully yours looks better than mine!

If you make it, post it on Instagram and tag us @kpop_int

This way I can see how you did it and maybe steal (borrow) some of your add-ons! :3

Well ladies and gents, I hope you enjoyed this walkthrough! :D

Tell me what you thought!

Have you created Kimchi Jeon before?

What did you add?

How did you like it?

Was it easy?

Let me know! :D

Next on our menu~

Kimbap!

If you have any requests, shoot us a comment and I'll work my booty create it for you!

This has been Korean Cooking 101 with your maknae sunbae @Sailynn (funny how that works but it works!)

Thank you everyone!

*bows*

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page